What are the requirements for a security guard license?
The requirements for a security guard license are a 40-hour school course, a two-hour test which is a total of 8 hours per day which would be 5 days in the school which is a total of 42 hours.
How much does a class d security guard license cost in Florida?
The class D security guard license cost in Florida is $97.75 payable to the FDACS which means Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Regional Office Located at 400 S Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32399 their office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m – 5:00 p.m. Phone number: (850) 410-3800
How to get a security license in Florida?
The steps to get a security license in Florida is to visit a local Security School credited by the state of Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Regional Office. All students must be at least the age of 18 or older, Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident with an issued social security number, Submit to fingerprinting, Successfully complete class D and 40- hour security guard training, submit a notarized application to the Florida Division of Licensing, submit two passport-style photos.
How to get a Florida security license?
Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Florida To begin your career as an unarmed security guard in Florida, you must become licensed by the Florida Department of Agriculture. Unarmed security guard requirements in Florida are below. Applicants must:
- be a U.S. citizen or legal resident with an issued social security number
- be at least 18 years of age
- submit to fingerprinting
- successfully complete class D and 40-hour security guard training
- submit a notarized application to the Florida Division of Licensing
- submit two passport-style photos
Classroom training for the class D unarmed security guard license will include topics such as legal issues, proper emergency response, patrol procedures, and more. Fees for licensing total $87.
Armed Security Guard Requirements in Florida
To become an armed security guard in Florida, you first complete state-required armed security guard training to be hired by a licensed agency. Your armed license must be renewed every two years. Armed security guard requirements in Florida include:
- must be at least 21 years old
- must file an application with the division
- submission of a fingerprint set on a standard FBI fingerprint card
- must not have been convicted of any felony and/or misdemeanor involving theft, drug offenses, or moral turpitude
- must successfully complete the state-required 28-hour armed training course
Some of the topics to be covered in the training course include:
- Firearm safety and mechanics
- Fundamentals of shooting
- Civil liability and use of force
- Use of deadly force
- Handgun marksmanship
- Care and maintenance of firearms
- Other required armed security guard training
Each year, licensees must also submit proof that he or she has received a minimum of four hours of firearms re-certification training and complied with any other health and training requirements. The licensing fees total $154.
How to renew the security license in Florida?
If you would like to pay by credit card, licensees can renew their licenses online at the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services’ website Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Website. Select your license type from the navigation and follow the guided instructions. If the license has not expired or is not under administrative review, mail a check or money order to the DOL with your renewal letter. The letter must be notarized and include your passport photo. If a licensee lets their security license expire past 6 months from the renewal date they will have to reapply for the license as well as re-submit the live scan fingerprints for the FBI background check, provide a recent passport photo, complete another State of Florida application, have it notarized and then, send all your information with a check, or money order to the Division of Licensing for the amount of the license. i.e.; $45 for the Security D license and or $112 for the Statewide Firearm License Renewals.
Example: Security D License fee is $45. If the license renewal is past due, it’s a $90 late fee.
Florida Security License Renewal Fees:
- Security D License $45
- Statewide Firearms G License $112
- C/CC Private Investigator $75
Mail Your Renewal Letter to Florida DOL:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687
Phone Number: (850) 245-5691
Fax Number: (850) 245-565
How to become a licensed security guard in Florida?
In order to work as a security guard in Florida, it requires completion of the Security D Course to be qualified to work private security. The Security D Course is a security training class that will teach students the basic principles of working as a security guard. A security guard must have the ability to Deter, Detect, and Respond to situations that may include crime prevention and emergencies. The security D course will provide security guard students with the security training needed to work in private security. The security training will prepare security guards in the following topics: access control, terrorism awareness, emergency procedures, report writing, interviewing techniques, CPR, and crime prevention. The State of Florida requires security guard training to be taught at a licensed security school and necessitates 42 hours of training to be eligible for the class D security license.
Students that complete the security guard training will be issued a security certificate that is required to apply for the class d security license. Security guard students will also be required to submit a security license application, an application fee, and a fingerprint card to the Florida Division of Licensing to obtain the Class D Security License. Our security guard training will assist students with the security application process so they can easily apply for the Class D Security License. Security guards can apply in person at a regional office or by mail. Our security class will provide these steps during security guard training. Not all security schools provide the same level of training. The state requires all security schools to cover a 40-hour security training outline, but each school is responsible for delivering their curriculum of training. So the security guard training is not standardized and different at every security school.
Many security training schools throughout the state offer this training through 40 hours of boring old videos and barley cover the minimum standards. We have set the standards and have the best reputation for security guard training in the state!